Latest Tweets

Kilcullen Crowned Junior A Champions   24/09/2018

Junior A Championship Final  - Sat 22nd Sept 2018

In Moorefield @ 3:30PM

Full Time: Kilcullen 5-11, Na Fianna 3-06 

Kilcullen stormed their way into Intermediate ranks with a fine victory over Na Fianna in Moorefield last Saturday.  As only a single point separated the sides in their “Round Robin” Championship game and that was what we got for the first 25 minutes. Indeed, the first 10 minutes were tight with a first minute Jayne Peacocke free for Kilcullen drawing a response in kind a minute later from Stacey Cahill. Emily Jacob got in a brilliant block to prevent Nanci Murphy getting a goal and at the other end Na Fianna missed a handy free as 8 scoreless minutes followed the opening scores. Grace Rogers broke the deadlock with a fine point and Laura Quigley followed suit. Then Laura won a Na Fianna kickout and send Nanci Murphy through to bury her shot in the bottom corner and when Nanci quickly added a point Kilcullen looked to be on their way. Na Fianna were not standing back and when Stacey Cahill drifted a long-left wing free across the box, Hayley Wiltshire, first to react, gathered and fired over. On 20 minutes Mikaela McKenna floated in a free only to see the point attempt deceive the defenders on the line and drop over the heads into the net. Four minutes later a brilliant move started by Tara Jacob, carried on by Stacey Cahill and Mikaela McKenna ended with Natalie Campbell finding the Kilcullen net and suddenly Na Fianna were in front. Jayne Peacocke settled “Ragettes” nerves with a point and then Nanci Murphy provided two lovely passes. From the first Clare Kelly slipped in a goal and from the second Jayne Peacocke fired home. Na Fianna finished the half with a pointed free from Hayley Wiltshire to leave the score Kilcullen 3 – 5 Na Fianna 2 – 3.

Just as in the first half the teams shared the first 2 scored. Jayne Peacocke slotting over for Kilcullen and Aimee Fitzpatrick responding.  Na Fianna then lost livewire corner forward Aine Murphy after a clash and seemed to love momentum. Nanci Murphy crashed home a 35th minute goal, Molly Aspell added a point and sub Ruth Birchall, a County Under Age Star, flashed home a clinching goal with 10 minutes left. Jayne Peacocke again pointed a free, but Na Fianna stormed back, and Sinead Crowe fired for the top left corner only to see Aoife Molyneaux in the Kilcullen goal, spring to her right and palm the shot over the bar.

Kilcullen struck back with another “reserve” Sally Murphy adding a point while Tara Breen, freed from her centre back duties, ranged forward to float over a long-range score. Na Fianna battled on. Stacey Cannon fired over after dogged Kilcullen defence repulsed a couple of goal-seeking attacks and then with 3 minutes left Tara Jacob again made a vital interception, burst forward and found Mikaela McKenna who blasted home her team’s third goal.  Kilcullen shut up shop after that and a bout of keep-ball ended with Ruth Birchall winning a free which Nanci Murphy confidently pointed

Kilcullen has stars all over the park, with Aoife Molyneaux very solid and making one outstanding save. Eimear McBride and Clare Mulrennan excelled in the full back line, Tara Breen dominated from centre back while Lorraine Schwer and Laura Quigley won the major share at midfield. In attack Jayne Peacocke directed operations from centre forward while Nanci Murphy caused havoc at full forward.

Emily Jacob, Danielle McDonald and Tara Jacob defended stoutly, Stacey Cannon and Chloe Smullen battled hard at midfield while Aimee Fitzpatrick, Hayley Wiltshire and Mikaela McKenna were their best attackers.


Kilcullen: Jayne Peacocke 1 – 4 (0-2 frs), Nanci Murphy 2 – 2 (0-1 Fr), Clare Kelly (13) 1 – 0, Ruth Birchall 1 – 0, Grace Rogers 0 - 1, Laura Quigley 0 - 1, Molly Aspell 0 – 1, Sally Murphy 0 – 1, Tara Breen 1 – 0.

Na Fianna: Mikaela McKenna 2 – 0 (1-0 Fr), Natalie Campbell 1 – 0, Stacey Cahill 0 – 2, Hayley Wiltshire 0 – 2 (0-1Fr), Aimee Fitzpatrick 0 – 1, Sinead Crowe 0 – 1.

Kilcullen:Aoife Molyneaux (Capt), Karen Bell, Eimear McBride, Claire Mulrennan, Bróna Dooley, Tara Breen (0-1), Aoibhe Burke, Laura Quigley (0-1), Lorraine Schwer, Molly Aspell (0-1), Jayne Peacocke (1-4,2f), Grace Rogers (0-1), Clare Kelly (1-0), Nanci Murphy (2-2 1f), Kate Timmons.

Subs: Claire Kelly for B Dooley (HT), Ruth Birchall (1-0) for K Timmons (38 min), Sally Murphy (0-1) for 13 C Kelly (46 min), Eleanor Traynor for K Bell (59 min).

Na Fianna: Irene Heavey, Emily Jacob, Danielle McDonald, Christine Hynes, Simone Farrell, Tara Jacob, Michaela O’Rourke, Stacey Cahill (0-2 f), Chloe Smullen, Ciara Moran, Aimee Fitzpatrick (0-1), Natalia Campbell (1-0), Aine Murphy, Mikaela McKenna (2-0 I f), Hayley Wiltshire (0-2 1 f).

Subs: Niamh Dunne for A Murphy (Inj 32 min), Sinead Crowe (0-1) for Ciara Moran (34 min), Roisin Murphy for C Haynes (34 min), Aileen Wright for N Campbell (44 min).

Referee: Billy O’Connell

Report with thanks to Tom Ryan