HISTORIC 5 IN A ROW FOR DUB'S 2016-07-12 22:55:00


Gregory McGonigle’s Dublin claimed a fifth successive TG4 Leinster ladies senior football championship crown.

Dublin demolished Westmeath by 26 points in a surprisingly one sided provincial decider at O’Moore Park in Portlaoise.

Dublin ran out 4-23 to 0-7 winners against the Lake County, to repeat last year’s final success against the same opposition.

There was little to suggest that such a wide gulf would separate the counties at the finish as Dublin led by nine points at the break - 1-11 to 0-5.

In a wind-swept encounter, Sinead Goldrick scored the only goal of the first half for Dublin as Leona Archibold kept Westmeath in touch from frees.

Nicole Owens had four points on the board for Dublin by the interval, as Goldrick added a point to her goal.

Lyndsey Davey collected two first-half points while Carla Rowe and Sinead Aherne were also on the scoresheet.

The floodgates opened in the second half, however, as Dublin stepped on the gas to outclass Westmeath.

Nicole Owens claimed the player-of-the-match award after finishing with six points but Davey was the leading scorer for Dublin as she registered 1-4.

Rowe and Aherne also netted second half goals for Dublin - who have now booked a safe passage to the All-Ireland quarter-finals.

C Trant, O Carey, D Murphy, L Caffrey, S Goldrick, S Finnegan, N Collins, L Magee, S Furlong, N Healy, N Owens, C Rowe, S Woods, S Aherne, L Davey.

Dublin sub's:
Molly Lamb for Magee, Niamh McEvoy for Woods, Amy Connolly for Owens, Olivia Leonard for Aherne, Lucy Collins for S Finnegan

Dublin scorers:
Lyndsey Davey 1-04(1f)
Nicole Owens 0-06
Sinead Goldrick 1-1
Noelle Healy 0-3
Carla Rowe 1-2
Sinead Aherne 1-02(1f)
Siobhan Woods 0-01
Deirdre Murphy 0-01
Ciara Trant 0-1(f)